In the Bleak Meteorological Mid-Winter

Frosty winds are making moan at my house.  I saw this on Weather Underground the other day, the difference between astronomical winter and meteorological winter and figured it would make a good lead-in for a long overdue New Year post.

First of all, the annual present making with the mostly grown up children went well, one of the best efforts.  Unfortunately, I didn’t get photos of all the candles we made, because the team got them packed and wrapped before I remembered.  It went so well, and their mother uses so many candles that we talked about a repeat for next year.  They could each search for some cool containers ahead of time.  (Yeah, right….)

Here’s an action shot of the crew at lunch – surrounded by our still unpainted dining room walls.  Those are sparkling juice bottles, BTW.

LUNCH

I didn’t get pictures of all the gifts they made for one another, since some of that action took place elsewhere, and some of the phone camera shots aren’t very useful.  There were, however, some cute hippo slipper(s), even if not quite finished:

hippo2 hippo

And some of the gifts I made them:

Popm poms, of course!

aman 2 Aman   Billy

Socks and infinity scarves

T's sox

Lib

This is the infinity scarf in its first incarnation, a Honey Cowl.

IMG_1794

I was clearly not going to have enough yarn, and I was using stash, a skein of Casbah carried with a skein of Kid Silk Haze, so there was no more to be had.  I ripped it out and used a stitch pattern with a much less compressed row gauge.    Here’s what I had left after the new version:

left

And for the one teen aged boy I know who likes to dress up:

eph

He appears to be checking out my workmanship, I hope I passed the test.  That is a newish pattern, Adair, the grown up version of the Avery vest.  I used some JoSharp DK that was in my stash, and Mr. Style has worn it quite a few times already, so I hear.

There is also a shaped option with sleeves for women.   The yarn is the Pediboo Worsted, the grown up version of Pediboo.  It is lovely stuff.

Adair front view

I thought I might do a knitting year in review, for my own record keeping, but this post is already too long .  For those down under, keep cool.  For the rest of us, snuggle in and stay warm and dry.  Happy 2014 to all.

5 responses to “In the Bleak Meteorological Mid-Winter

  1. Your gift making gatherings look so fun! That vest is especially nice.

    I was saddened to discover all that new snow had fallen overnight. Alas…

  2. It would be so much fun to join in on your making party.
    Peter might be the recipient of an Adair in the future. The child’s version is so cute, and has turned into a go-to pattern for me.

  3. Pingback: Stumbling Over Chaos :: Linkity. Making people late for work since 2009. Whoops.

  4. I am so behind in my blog reading, I just got to this. I can’t believe the little tiger hat guy is so grown up and handsome. So cool that the gift making tradition continues!

Leave a Reply

