Red Scarf Project

Cartridge Belt Rib Scarf

Here is my current submission for the Red Scarf Project. I have another on the needles. Along with about 7 other projects on other needles.

I have finally written up my two favorite simple scarf stitch patterns to encourage others to participate. I heart Cartridge Belt Rib for its purl-free ribbing. It goes very quickly, and it’s very easy to spot and correct mistakes.

Brioche Rib is my other scarf standby. It has a lovely rhythm, but it is not so easy to correct mistakes. No dropping down the troublemaker a few rows and whipping it back into shape. You have to rip back to find the offender and fix it. I believe it is worth it, however. Just remember to check your work every few rows.

Really cool? I went into teach the other night and there were TWO donations for the project. They were donated anonymously, so if you left these at the Yarnery in St. Paul, let me know!


Anonymous Red Scarves

I thought I’d get the post-it note, too. Guess not.

So, get hip, get red, get over to Now Norma Knits.


8 responses to “Red Scarf Project

  1. nice scarves! Thanks for sharing the Cartridge Belt Rib, that looks like a keeper.

  2. Hey Jersey Girl, nice to meetcha too! Thanks for stopping by my blog. I’ll tell my hepcat son you like the look! 🙂 I’m off to check out those stitch patterns you posted.

  3. Hi and thanks for reading my blogs! Loving your scarf and quilting projects. Yes fingers crossed for the school fete! I won`t be there in person (unfortunately) as both of my girls have a dance lessons on the same morning and ballet and freestyle exams on the Sunday 🙂

    I am now knitting snowball like Christmas tree decorations as well for the fete. Taking me about 2 hours to complete one, stuffing, sewing and all! I have my Mum on the case as well now so we should have quite a few come Friday! Thank you for contacting me through the blog…. Keep strolling through my blogs and yeah why not come over and stroll through our estate sometime 🙂

  4. Love the scarves, they are so cute!!

  5. Thanks for the patterns!! Do you know where I can find the pattern for that “wavy” red scarf ???

  6. Hi Babette – I don’t know for sure, but there is a similar one on the old knitlist gift list: http://www.knitlist.com/99gift/garter-eyelet-scarf.htm

  7. Hi! I love the patterns, enough that I cast on for the cartridge belt last night.

    I think there is an error in row 2. The last two stitches for that row should read: sl1 wyif, k1. I think the “wyif” was left out.

Leave a Reply

