Fraternal Twins or How to Avoid Second Sock/Mitten Syndrome

Ok, I have no real experience with fraternal twins. (You’ll have to ask Theresa about that.) Or any kind of twins. In my family of seven kids, we didn’t even have any “Irish Twins” (In my neighborhood, what two children born in the same calendar year were called….) But recently, I’ve been creating fraternal twins for socks and popover type fingerless mitts. I am easily bored, and hate to turn around and repeat the same thing I just finished. My usual approach to avoiding second sock syndrome is to cast on and knit a few inches, then using a second set of needles, cast on and knit the same amount for the second sock. I alternate in this way to ensure I get the second sock or mitten done. This year, I’ve been making socks out of the same yarn, using different ribbing, or mixing up leftovers. It makes that starting the second sock or mitten almost as much fun as starting a brand new one, instead of a repeat.

My sister requested popover mittens for Christmas. She works in a preschool and wanted to be able to zip, tie and velcro out on the playground without removing her gloves. I adapted Elizabeth Wellenstein’s Popover pattern from 220 Patterns for Cascade 220, using Malabrigo leftovers. Sorry the colors in the picture aren’t so great. No daylight. I made the right and left hands similar, but not identical. The interesting thing is, people wanted the pattern to make them exactly that way. That’s the beauty of leftovers in yarn and knitting to me. There is not a pattern to do it exactly. It’s the way I cook, too. What’s in the fridge that I can use for a meal? What’s in the basket that I can use for this project? I may use a recipe or a pattern for some basic guidance, but then adapt to what’s at hand. Sometimes it’s not so great. Sometimes the food or the project turns out so well, I go buy ingredients to repeat it.

This may happen with the knitted popovers (as opposed to the food variety) because those who see the mitts and know that they have been deemed eligible for my list of those who are knitworthy drop broad hints. Such as Billy, age 12. “Those are awesome. I was just telling Guy I wanted some of those. In red.” Subtle.

Malabrigo mitts


2 responses to “Fraternal Twins or How to Avoid Second Sock/Mitten Syndrome

  1. I ‘d be hinting too- I love your twins. Great colors for a Minnesota winter!

  2. Billy sounds about as sublte as my family. “You know that hat you made so-and-so . . .”

Leave a Reply

