My Box Runneth Over

Yo, Norma, check this picture out!  I know it’s not great, but at least the scarves aren’t hanging on my neighbor’s fence.  Some additional scarves arrived via interoffice mail. Last night I put care tags on the other  scarves. Some of them I could tell what the yarn content was, others were put to the match. (Shout from downstairs – Hey what are you burning up there?) When in doubt, I used the hand wash tags. I’m planning to get this box in the mail tomorrow, and I know there are a few more scarves coming. Is this great, or what?

Norma asked those making scarves to write and say why. At first, I thought, what does she mean, why? Because I can, that’s why. Then I started to really think. Knitting is great for thinking. Dulaan is easy, it’s for kids who are freezing cold and poor. And yes, I’m usually good for a square or two for an afghan. But why additional effort for this and not another ‘knit for people I don’t know and probably never will’ — what spoke to me? I mean, besides Gale’s fab poster.

Honestly, it took a while for these feelings to surface. When I was beginning college/university, my mother, who was never sick, became mysteriously ill. At the beginning of my second year, she died of pancreatic cancer. My support was gone. My dad had his hands full with his grief and financial problems. He had lost his job shortly before my mother died, and there were three kids still at home. (I’m the middle of seven, and the oldest girl.) I’m sure he figured as long as he didn’t need to worry about me, all was OK. No letters or care packages. Plus I was going to school in Ottawa, and my family lived in New Jersey, so I couldn’t pop home for visits. I didn’t even go to my graduation, since there was no one planning to attend. Hmmm, do you think that could be why the Red Scarf Project called my name?

I had so much more than kids who spent most of their lives in foster care, but I still remember the feeling of loneliness. So keep those scarves coming, folks.

Or start now for next year. Thanks to all those anonymous knitters who made my box runneth over.

6 responses to “My Box Runneth Over

  1. Holy mother of……..!

    That’s a BOX of red scarves!!! A beautiful sight to behold….

  2. wow Mary Lou. There’ll be lots of warm necks & hearts this Valentines Day thanks to you!

  3. Brilliant! Well done! That`s a lovely sight to see. I wished I had known about this before now, because I would have knitted some and have them sent over to you from the UK.

    Could you let me know if you are doing any knitting for a worthy cause again and I shall get involved as well? Thanks

  4. Thanks for this heartfelt story. As I box up my scarves, I have been thinking of why this project appeals to me, too. My reasons are different, but I love how charity knitting focuses the knitter about their own blesings in life.

  5. ::sniff: Crying now.
    That’s an amazing sight!

  6. Hi Mary Lou,
    Thanks so much for visiting my blog. I came over to visit yours, and ended up crying. Your story really touched my heart. I have always had an affinity for teens, especially troubled, orhpan, or foster teens. The Red Scarf Project is totally my bag. Looks like you did a great job on collecting scarves. Oh, by the way, I will be back to buy your Tiger Hat pattern. I can’t let that one slip by with 2 little Detroit Tiger fans in my house.
    Trish

Leave a Reply

