My Life in Brackets

At loose ends. Not where a knitter wants to be, I think. I have been feeling that way for a few weeks now. I thought maybe it was because I wasn’t reading a particular book. That always gives me direction. Not sure what to do next? Pick up the book, find the bookmark, start reading. So I started and finished “The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Nighttime.” Wonderful book, but short. Not a giant lose-yourself-for-a- week-or-two-book. I think I have to find one of those. Suggestions?

I’ve also been feeling that way about my knitting projects. I’ve got several going, but each one has led me to a spot where I have to stop and think, or calculate, or get more yarn. Which leaves me wandering again.

Since it is March Madness Time, I thought –perhaps bracketing my daily life could help. (We were laughing about this idea at work, I didn’t invent this on my own. Caffeine was involved.) In my case, the loser moves on — since the task wasn’t completed. I also couldn’t put knitting in every one. My life would be much easier if that were the case. A glimpse of my personal March Madness:

Dullsville, huh? At least here is one finished object – socks in Bearfoot for the big birthday of a friend who says I MAY NOT discuss it!

All the other kids get to show pretty spring flowers on their March blog entries. Not here in the Upper Midwest. Here’s my spring flower:

And although yesterday it was 80 degrees (F), here’s a picture I took two weeks ago. The spots and white background? A blizzard. The scarf I designed in a reversible cable pattern using Cascade EcoWool. This is nice yarn and that big skein made a very generous scarf.

And yes, since you asked, this is a very manly scarf. I am pondering my stash now, and in spite of the large quantity from which to choose, I am stumped. Stay tuned for the final four.

from Mary Lou

3 responses to “My Life in Brackets

  1. It’s having to do the taxes that are getting to you. (ask me j how I know…).
    I love that scarf. I have a thing for reversible cables. Please sell the pattern on your site!

  2. Books to get lost in: Anything by David Foster Wallace. Long, involved, and hysterical!

  3. New shoes! A sure sign that spring is around. It was warm here for the last week or so (nowhere near 80 tho!) but now more snow and lots and lots of mud.

Leave a Reply

