Basic Black

I have recently finished two tedious projects in basic black. The World’s Most Boring Socks in black stockinette for the spousal unit. That’s what he likes. I can sometimes do ribbing, but no color. I do usually put a contrasting reinforcement color on the toes for ease of matching when doing laundry. (Which he does. No complaints there.)

The next project was a stole I planned to donate for a Silent Auction for a scholarship fund at a conference. I decided something black and mindless would be just the ticket. Everyone loves black. I love having a Soothing, Relaxing, Mindless (SRM) Knitting project. Well this did not turn out to be the SRM project I envisioned. I decided that a scribble lace stole with one skein of Kidsilk Haze for the thin yarn and for the thicker yarn, some black boucle mohair. Both were in my stash. Those experienced knitters among you are already snickering at my naiveté. Last time I did a Scribble Lace* stole for a friend, it was Kidsilk Haze and a lovely smooth ribbon. Anyone who has ever knit with mohair boucle knows how grabby and sticky it can be. Couple that with Kidsilk Haze – lovely, fine, sticky kidmohair and silk. Plus, Kidsilk Haze on the giant needles used for scribble lace required a fair bit of attention to grab each stitch. I was never so glad to be done a project. Even if it meant weaving in the extra ends of mohair that I cut because I got too frustrated trying to untangle it properly. There are knitters out there who have figured out how to turn after each row so that yarns don’t tangle. I imagine I could, too, if I paid attention, but I never do. It’s a pattern in other areas of my life, too. You know, like if I folded my laundry and put it away immediately, I wouldn’t end up with a pile that seems too big to deal with till I have a big chunk of time. Which means about one a week. (Mr. Guy does the laundry, but says he won’t go into my closet without backup.)

scribble-lace.jpg

At any rate, here is the stole, unblocked, hanging up against a window to show the open stitches. The finished project did raise a fair sum of money, and was purchased by a new friend I met at the conference. Karen was standing by the stole so no one could outbid her. I stopped to chat and she went on and on about how beautiful it was and how it would go perfectly with a dress she had. I said thank you and she looked at me weirdly. Then it dawned on her. “Of course you made this. You’ve been knitting through all the sessions. ” One speaker on an affordable housing topic had said something about “Mo Money! Mo Time!” A crew of sillies began chanting by the stole, “Mo Money! Mo Time! Mohair!” And they weren’t even knitters.

*Scribble Lace was introduced by Debbie New in her amazing book, Unexpected Knitting. The Mason Dixon gals also wrote it up. Scribble lace is beautiful, combining a very thin yarn with thick yarn to produce a fabric with an unusual and rather interesting appearance. The stole weighed almost nothing, yet was surprisingly warm. If you see it wandering around Salt Lake City, say hi.
Here are the basic steps:
Use a LARGE circular needle – I used a 15US.

A very thin yarn (I used Kidsilk Haze) A very thick yarn.

With the thick yarn, cast on desired number of stitches.

Switch to the thin yarn, knit one row, purl one row, knit one row.

Slide the the stitches down to the other end of the circular needle, carry the thick yarn loosely up the edge of the work and knit back.

Purl one row, knit one row, purl one row.

Repeat until you run out of yarn, are happy with the end results, or are bored out of your mind.

4 responses to “Basic Black

  1. I don’t care if it was a pain in the butt, that black on black scribble shawl is absolutely stunning. I’m pretty sure you could wear a stained Tshirt under it and look dressed up. I want one! (but maybe I won’t use a boucle mohair, I’m just not THAT masochistic).

  2. I love it and now wish to make one.
    Peter complains about the colours of the socks I make for him. My answer is that if I am to knit giant socks, I must be at least entertained by the yarn. If he says something again, I also let him know that sock-making activities can cease at any time, and that no one outside of our household sees the socks anyway because he wears shoes. This is an ongoing discussion.

  3. Just a minor question… I have some yarn that might work for this.. (I know that I have the thin mohair.. oh, do I have some mohair.. I think I buy it because it feels like petting a cat. I can’t have pets where I live- so, I buy yarn that feels like pets.. You know- you do what you have to do.)

    My question is.. about how many skeins of the thick yarn did you use? My yarns that might work have 50 grams on the label.. no yardage.. (bought overseas) but.. if I could have a ‘gestimate’ it would help. 😀

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

