Scarf Swatching in Silky Mmmmmmerino

The Yarnery, where I teach, is one of a small number of shops in the US to receive a test yarn from Malabrigo, Silky Merino. This yarn is delicious. I offered to make a scarf for the shop model because I thought I could use a pattern I had already written up.

dscf1032.jpg

It simply did not do justice to this beautiful yarn.

It is very interesting to me how a yarn interacts with a stitch pattern. I swatched about 15 different stitch patterns, but none of them were ‘it’ — perfectly fine stitches and fun to work, but just not right. I wish I had photographed them before I ripped them out, but I didn’t think of it until too late. And I couldn’t keep them, because I only had two skeins of yarn. I fact, I wish I had at least put a post-it or ripped up napkin or something on the pages in the stitch dictionaries, because several of the patterns were perfect for a baby blanket or another scarf in a different yarn. I have a real problem with things like that. It’s related to putting things away, I think. I just want to move on to the next step, next swatch, next whatever. Taking 5 minutes to organize before moving on would simplify my life inordinately. Why can’t I manage to do that? Any suggestions for internal reprogramming?

The Silky Merino looked very delicate. It is not. I wouldn’t make anything you expect to get heavy duty wear, of course. But I ripped and knitted and ripped and knitted and this yarn did not pill or shred, or look as thought it had been thru the wringer in any way. That was quite a surprise to me.

One aspect of the combination of the silk and the merino was that the yarn has a subtle shimmer. Not shiny or iridescent, but it catches the light in a way that plain wool does not. I really wanted a pattern that took advantage of the quality, and ended up with this:

Variations on this pleating pattern are found in most stitch dictionaries. I tweaked it a bit to make it more reversible to my eye. I used a stockinette stitch selvage so it would roll in and mimic the pleating.

The scarf is light but cozy and soft on the neck. I don’t know what plans Malabrigo has for this yarn, but if your LYS or webshop carries other Malabrigo products, it would be worth asking if they can get it. I searched around for others who have used it and found a clapotis, and another clapotis.

There is some in stashes in Ravelry, too. I forget to check Ravelry. That is why I am a charter member of a group called the Ravelry Underachievers. The very-high-achiever-in other-areas-but-not-spelling Gale mentioned it as a joke (I think) and next thing I knew I was joined up and one of the administrators. I’m not sure what that means, I hope they aren’t counting on my knowledge of Ravelry, or underachieving will be an understatement.

-MLE

4 responses to “Scarf Swatching in Silky Mmmmmmerino

  1. I know exactly what you mean when you talk about finding the right yarn-pattern combo. And you did a great job, this is a perfect match!!! Oooh, I’ll put Malabrigo on my list until next time I go internet shopping…

  2. Wait! Isn’t an underachieving underachiever actually an….achiever? You are SO a perfect charter member. That is a stunning scarf.
    I need to admit here that I have no idea at all what an administrator on Ravelry can or should do. I thought I was filling in a list for invites when I put your name there.

  3. Wow, I really want to learn how to knit and crochet in this life. I hope I live long enough to enjoy a long retirement because with all the growing of our own food there just isn’t time for it right now. But I can however pop in here and admire yours instead.

    I have a bag of wool and needles along with a simple sock pattern under my stairs. I come across it about once a year and look in and look forward to a time when I finally sit down with it.

Leave a Reply

