Slog Cabin

My nephew and his wife just had their second child, who was born early. (Baby and mom are fine.) What’s wrong with these people? Don’t they understand that an early birth is very inconsiderate of those making knitted gifts? In my case, this gift is a log cabin baby blanket. I have made of number of these, and start with good intentions. They go so fast, oh this is great, I’ll have this done in no time. I mean, they won’t be taking the baby out very much in the first month anyway, will they?

Then, after the first few rounds, progress slows. OK, maybe I shouldn’t be making this in lightweight yarn at 7 sts to the inch. What a fool. I must have some nice washable worsted in my stash. When I bought the yarn, Rowan Cashsoft 4 ply, it was so soft, so lovely to look at, such a bargain. (Clearanced at 40% off.) Now I am not sure I really like the color combination, especially the Koigu in the center, which doesn’t look quite so blue in real life. No matter, I am not going back. I am slogging on.

It feels as though no matter how long I knit it never looks much bigger. So I started playing mind games with myself. What if, instead of seven ridges each color, I make them bigger. I’ll move up to nine ridges, then in the final set eleven. Yeah, that will go much faster because it will reduce the amount of binding off and picking up stitches. That makes sense, doesn’t it? Except now, it seems like each color is taking longer because there are more rows and more stitches. Right, more rows and more stitches do take longer. There appear to be some properties related to mathematical progression that I have not grasped. Will it ever end? Will I loose my love of garter stitch? Will I loose my mind? Will this baby get a gift from Target very soon? Stay tuned.

MLE

9 responses to “Slog Cabin

  1. Oh Mary Lou, I just about fell off of my chair. I think every knitter can easily relate to this particular post. Can you ask them to stuff the baby back in until you are ready?

  2. That looks like a great one-year-old birthday gift to me. :o) It would be if I was knitting it!

  3. Hang in there. It’ll be worth it, it looks great.
    (and: great title)

  4. I know the feeling! I am knitting a triangular shawl and the rows just keep getting longer and longer!

  5. Bibs! Bibs! Bibs!

  6. Silly kitty. Apparently she’s hoping you have kitties to torture and share her bib modeling pain…

  7. Try doing like I do. I give them the present months after the baby way born and tell them that I thought they would be so overwhelmed with gifts at the beginning and then people would stop giving gifts, so I waited. This way they know people are still thinking about them. Yeah, that’s it. Right.

    Besides, it’s summer, will he really need it now? Couldn’t it wait until fall?

    I do sympathize with the lack of progress despite many hours of knitting thing. Been there, done that, unfortunately.

  8. I love your “log cabin lament” and can relate. I’m nearing the end of a 9-patch log cabin…make 9 small log cabins and then sew/crochet them together and add a border. What was I thinking?! More ends, more pieces, more finishing. I’ve decided I need a deadline…I gave myself June 12th…the last day of school. Wish me luck and just keep slogging away.

  9. The colors are GORGEOUS. Good luck, though I think you’re allowed a considerable amount of leeway, a) under the circumstances and b) for making such a lovely heirloom gift.

    Here’s a thought from a non-knitter, so take it for what it’s worth! What about a log cabin storybook for now, with the quilt to follow?

    One of my kids’ favorites is “Log Cabin in the Woods” by Joanne Henry. I just checked and it’s still in print,

    http://www.amazon.com/Cabin-Woods-Story-about-Pioneer/dp/157860107X/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1211042449&sr=1-2

Leave a Reply

