The Rewards of Green Errands or The Prodigal Returns

I wanted to go to the post office and run some other errands today, so I put air in my bike tires and got going for my first ride of the year. I have two panniers for the bike, and generally only need to take one. So what to my wondering eyes should appear when I took down both panniers from their winter storage – could it be?

Yes, it is!

The fleece artist sock and pouch, missing since last August! I must have been biking somewhere and left them in one of the panniers, then never used that one again until now. Although it was a bit disappointing to see that the little bike pannier elves did not finish the sock for me, I was pleased to see how beautiful the yarn is.

In addition to packages to mail, I took a few balls of leftover Koigu to get weighed so I’d know how much I really used in the newest baby sweater. My local PO has some of the loopiest — in the best possible way– workers around. The gentleman this morning said he would weigh my yarn if I promised to pop a wheelie in the parking lot on the way out. I agreed, on the condition that there be an ambulance available in the parking lot at the same time. No wheelie, not even a skid, just a wave to the guys as they got ready to close up.

5 responses to “The Rewards of Green Errands or The Prodigal Returns

  1. So, was it more fun than finding a $20 in a jacket pocket? šŸ™‚

  2. Where I can I get me a couple of those bike pannier elves you’re referring to? ‘Cause I got a shawl collar that refuses to be finished on a sweater!

  3. Congratulations on the big find! I don’t know about you, but something like that is always such a relief (from the constant, “Did I see it there? Maybe over here” mantra in my head) šŸ™‚

  4. See how much happier it made you to find it now than it would have last Aug.? It was surely worth the weight. I am slightly disappointed though that you have not taught your panniers to knit. I would have expected no less of you šŸ˜›

  5. Great surprise. And you have a very good post office.

Leave a Reply

