Visitors

I could pretend I’ve been on vacation, but I haven’t. I have a few lame garden photos to show: I finally got some eggplant.

Encouraged by Miss T., I made a blueberry pie, using the Vodka Crust recipe. It had a very short delicious life.

I have been doing some knitting and a have couple of new patterns, which I will be showing soon. Mostly, I’ve been planning for two big arrivals here in St. Paul. The first is my sister, who arrived with her family to spend the long weekend before heading to the Mayo Clinic, where she will be having many tests and major heart surgery on Friday. The other — the Republicans.

My 8 year-old nephew wound several skeins of yarn in the first day he was here. The tasteful child prefers merino, especially Koigu and Claudia, because they are ‘less sticky.’ He’ll be back with us during the first few days after surgery, so he is hoping I can dig out more stash for him to wind. Anyone who wants their skeins wound, come on down! And send your healing thoughts and energy my sister’s way, please.

The Republicans are another story. I work a block away from the Xcel center, and live across the river. I feel as though I live in a police state. There are helicopters buzzing around all the time, the Coast Guard are patrolling the Mississippi, and cops in riot gear are all over town. I don’t even want to go into all that. I’ll just leave you with a quote from that wild-eyed liberal Harry S. Truman:

Once a government is committed to the principle of silencing the voice of opposition, it has only one way to go, and that is down the path of increasingly repressive measures, until it becomes a source of terror to all its citizens and creates a country where everyone lives in fear.

9 responses to “Visitors

  1. That quote is all too relevant. Yikes. Mmm… pie.

    Sending lucky healthy thoughts to your sister!

  2. I, too, live right across the river from downtown. It sucks. Hope all goes well for your sister.

  3. Hi Mary Lou- I, too, am sick of the sound of the helicopters. Unequally unenjoyable was watching the “anarchists” wheel my building’s dumpster out of the driveway and down Dayton Avenue. They lit it on fire somewhere downtown I believe. Two more days….

  4. Thank you so much for that quote — it’s going up on my office door tomorrow (maybe some students who are on the fence will read it and realize how it applies to them). I’m so sorry to hear about your sister, and I’m sending lots and lots of healthy and healing thoughts in your and her direction.

  5. Hope everything goes well for your sister!

  6. Hang in there. It will all pass. The Republicans will leave and your sister will get better. The Mayo Clinic people are good.

  7. Sending positive vibes to your sister. Will be thinking of her the next few days, especially tomorrow.

    Happy end of summer, with eggplants and drunken pie crusts! I bought a case of peaches yesterday and planned to can them, but the rest of the family have other ideas. One entire layer has been eaten fresh, and there have been requests for pies.

    Your nephew sounds delightful. Feed the child pie.

  8. Great quote. I’m sure we’re all glad the Republicans are gone. Don’t miss the Anarchists either.

    I hope you can now enjoy your nephew-of-exquisite-taste while your sister recovers.

    (Looking forward to the patterns too.)

  9. I’m so glad the siege of Republicans is over. Your pie looks fabulous! My best wishes to your sister.

Leave a Reply

