Back to Winding My Own Yarn

Well my sister is tired, but getting better and better and I took them to the airport yesterday. My human ball winder got worried after breakfast yesterday. Did he have time to wind a few more balls before they left for the airport? He did.

The dark green koigu was especially entertaining to wind with the ball winder because it was already in a non center pull ball, so it bounced all over the room. Man, is that funny. Why don’t I do all my yarn that way? The mind of the 8 year old at work is a true delight. The night before they left, my sister and b-in-l had crashed, and we built a fire in the fire pit and sat and discussed important matters. What if we built a boat that responded to the frequency of the northern lights and would automatically follow them around on lakes and rivers? Can you have a bonfire if you take horses camping? Then the big idea was to get the laptop and the Lord of the Rings DVD and watch his favorite parts ‘by the flickering firelight’ — how could I refuse?

When I recover from the past three weeks, I do have some actual knitting content.

MLE

8 responses to “Back to Winding My Own Yarn

  1. That sounds like some perfect nephew time. What a mind, indeed! It’s a fun thing to see the world from a kid’s perspective — tiring, but fun. I’m glad that your sister is doing well, that’s amazing news, and must be such a relief for everyone. 🙂

  2. Children are amazing. Wouldn’t it be nice if we were still so easily entertained?

    Glad your sister is still doing well. I hoper the rest of her recovery is speedy.

  3. It really sounds like the two of you had a wonderful time together. Thanks for the update on your sister. It’s comforting to know her recovery is going well.

  4. All good questions, worthy of debate. :o)

  5. Sounds like eight-year olds are great fun, but exhausting!

  6. That’s quite a kid you’ve got there. Glad all is going well for your family, and may the improvements continue.

  7. Hey, I could use such a ball winder here! All the best!

  8. Wow, not sure my small mind can cope with such big questions, but they are well worth discussing! Already saw the first northern lights up here this autumn, always magic.

    All the best to your sister and the rest of you!

Leave a Reply

