Tax Day Cometh

From the Diary of Samuel Pepys, the original blogger.  I saw this and thought, “Why, that’s me.”  And it seems to be almost everyone I’ve talked to this week.

All the morning at the office busy. At noon to dinner, and thence to the office and did my business there as soon as I could, and then home and to my accounts, where very late at them, but, Lord! what a deale of do I have to understand any part of them, and in short do what I could, I could not come to any understanding of them, but after I had throughly wearied myself, I was forced to go to bed and leave them much against my will and vowe too, but I hope God will forgive me, for I have sat up these four nights till past twelve at night to master them, but cannot. Thus ends this month, with my head and mind mighty full and disquiett because of my accounts, which I have let go too long, and confounded my publique with my private that I cannot come to any liquidating of them.

I don’t think Sam had knitting to soothe his brain, however.  We just came back from a trip out east for a family wedding.  I got to see the beautiful new baby who received this:

mollys-blanket

Sadly, I lost my Forest Canopy shawl while traipsing around Manhattan.  It was a glorious spring day, and the scarf was too warm, so I tied it to my bag.  Silly me.  I hope some one who is knit worthy found it. My husband said “Oh no, that pretty one that looked so nice on you?”  Who knew?  Then he said, “It was a knitty thing, right, with holes in it?”   Yes, it was.

MLE

8 responses to “Tax Day Cometh

  1. Alas about the shawl! But dang, I hope your husband never lives that comment down. Hee hee.

    Hey, congrats on winning a pattern over at Red Dog Knits!

  2. I’m so sorry to hear you lost your knitty thing w/the holes in it! That must’ve hurt. Hopefully some deserving knit worthy sould actually did find it.

  3. Oh how awful about the FC. Except that it gives you an excuse to knit another one. 🙂

  4. OH NO! How horrible. I know you shouldn’t cry over spilt milk, but still.

    Knitty thing with holes in it. Oh dear 😛

  5. Oh no! I’m sorry about your shawl. A tragedy like that means you deserve some cashmere to knit a new one.

  6. That was a high enough tax to pay. And what a price!

  7. Ah, yes, I recognize that style of compliment 🙂 I’m so sorry to hear about the shawl, though! Talk about a knitting tragedy…

  8. It’s funny what husbands notice when you think they’re not paying attention. You’ll just have to whip up another Forest Canopy.

Leave a Reply

