Another Blanche Dubois Moment

Like Miss Dubois, I have always depended on the kindness of strangers.  In this case, strangers who sent me these:

debbie-bliss

I made a baby blanket for my newest great-nephew out in San Diego. The yarn, Debbie Bliss Cotton Denim Aran, was a gift from a coworker at the Yarnery staff stash swap. It worked out well and washed up beautifully, quite soft and cozy.

I received a lovely thank-you note from my niece about how perfect it was, and how she was the envy of her new mommy class. A short time later, I  received an email from her. The blanket was so admired by members of the class that someone in the class  STOLE it. Can you imagine?Of course, I promised to make another one, but the yarn has been discontinued and I didn’t have quite enough left. I could have used a different yarn, but I wanted to try to recreate the lost one.   Generous souls on Ravelry shared from their stash, many simply out of the goodness of their hearts. So thanks hockeyme, AimyBamy, joymichelle and Mauri. I finally have enough to make a similar blanket, perhaps a bit bigger to accomodate the growing boy.

I mean, look at this kid, doesn’t he need a blanket?

img_2877_2

In order to celebrate the generosity of knitters, I decided to have a little give-away contest. I think my sob-story of the stolen blanket helped me win over the knitters on Ravelry who offered yarn.  So,  I will give away three skeins of Misti Alpaca Chunky in a beautiful dark olive green to someone with a good story.  The color is much prettier when photographed by someone besides me.

misti

Write a comment with your sob story of why you need this yarn and I’ll choose a winner at random. Or maybe the comment that makes me snort the most.

MLE

4 responses to “Another Blanche Dubois Moment

  1. That blanket-stealer will feel bad whenever she uses it…. Who would do such a thing?

    I left some mittens on the bus this winter and no one turned them in to the Lost and Found. I had big bulky knit ones outside, lined with mitts made of sock yarn. Boo hoo.
    That’s about as sob-story-ish as I can get right now!

  2. I don’t have a sob story, but that’s a nice recovery. The generosity of knitters is truly a wonder.

  3. How horrible. She must be looking at them all with different eyes. But I’m very glad you’re going to be able to do another one.

    I was insanely flattered once when a corkscrew scarf I knitted for a friend was stolen while she was trying on clothes in a shop. Quite a smart shop too, not a cheap place, as I kept telling everyone.

  4. I’m not participating in the contest! But good grief, that was pretty low, to steal a baby blanket. Sheesh. Glad you were able to recreate it.

    And if your contest is going to run for a few days, I’ll mention it Wednesday on da blog. Let me know.

Leave a Reply

