Jinxed?

Some projects just seem to not want to be made.  The mysterious felting lace stole for my S-in-L is one of them.  After winding up my new (old) yarn and swatching for something simple that would require no blocking more complicated than a sweater, I went with the the  stitch pattern I used on my Openwork Rib Scarf.  I worked it at a tighter gauge, cast on more stitches and set off.  It looked beautiful, but about 10″ into it, I realized that it was consuming yarn at an alarming rate.  There is no chance to buy more of this yarn, since I don’t know what it is, and can’t remember where I got it.  I hemmed and hawed (and kept knitting) for a few days, then gave up and ripped it out while I was in a meeting.  This was in lieu of tearing my hair out, I think.  This meeting was so boring and dragged on for so long, and was so stupefying, I actually began  thinking that “Attachment A” would be a good name for a band.

Now what?  My usual go-to in a situation like this is the lace-stitch-that-never-lets-you-d0wn,  Feather and Fan.  That wasn’t an option, since the feather and fan baby blanket I made recently was for the daughter of the stole recipient, and I don’t want them to think that’s the only stitch I know. (Knitter’s vanity?)

I found inspiration over at She Shoots Sheep Shots, and started trying Razor Shell variations.  It’s a nice simple pattern, easily varied, and requires little blocking — all good things.  I began fooling around with decreases and decided that in the black yarn  it looks crisp and modern when you use a centered double decrease instead of the SlK2tog PSSO.

This is a swatch I use in my increases and decreases class that illustrates the difference, but in Print of the Hoof, rather than Razor Shell.cent double dec Sorry about the color, but it is hard to see it in the black of the stole.  I tried holding it up somehow with the window behind it, as Ms. Raveller does, but not very successfully.  She either has hooks or help.

annies stole

I cast on (again)  and set off (again. )  About 10″ in to the stole, (my magic number, I guess)  I realized I needed more garter stitch at the edges to prevent curling, and really needed one more repeat for the desired width.  Sigh.  The good news is that the yarn has held up well under repeated ripping, and therefore shouldn’t felt when she flings it over her shoulders on the way out the door. I’m at 16″ now, so the jinx must be broken.

Which makes me wonder –  did any of you say ‘jinx’ as a kid when you and a friend said something at the same time?  I did, but I don’t remember it meaning bad luck.  Except there might have been shoulder punching involved when you said ‘jinx’; I think that comes from having brothers.  Punches are frequently involved in many rituals involving brothers.

MLE

7 responses to “Jinxed?

  1. Oh I am so feeling this pain as I often participate in this sort of thing as well. How many projects have been started over and over again cannot be counted. Hopefully this effort will be the last for this particular item.

    I never did understand that punching thing, but got a lot of them.

  2. I hope you didn’t just jinx yourself by saying the jinx is broken…

  3. Here’s the thing. I saw some great felted lace at the Origins craft show in London last year. They were charged a small fortune for a swath of something that looked like felted Fir Cone stitch. Well, it’s a possibility!

    On the other hand, maybe the universe is trying to tell you that a shawl is not what’s needed in this situation. Just thinking. Sort of. What else does she need/want?

    Oh, and by the way, I got those pictures by pinning the partially knit stole to the valance. The sun was setting behind it, but it was muted by clouds. I’m just an opportunist at heart.

  4. The punch was for the person who broke jinx. Unless you said “jinx and a coke” faster, in which case they owed you a coke for breaking the jinx — I think that’s where the bad luck came in 🙂 I’m glad that you broke your jinx, and don’t even owe anyone a coke!

  5. (sorry if this shows up twice, I thought Isen it alreayd, but not to be seen)

    You can’t go wrong with razor Shel if you ask me! It looks like the jinx is gone.

    Here’re my questions:
    — were the ends or the sides curling? did you try going up a needle size to make it lay flat?
    – how do you do the centered double decrease?
    -why do you say it won’t need much blocking, I always block mine vigorously .(probably whether it needs it or not)

  6. ps .
    whew, sorry for all the typos! I am really tired tonight

  7. I remember “jinx,” but without the punching!

Leave a Reply

