Day of the Dead

It’s been a time of passing here. My aunt, then when I was in Chicago I got the news that an old friend and housemate had died suddenly. He was the one I won $5 from in the Japanese Yarn Cocoon demonstration. Then a co-worker whose office was about 3 feet from mine, who died of the same disease at the same age as my mother. I know death is part of life, but still…

I live in an area that has a Mexican tradition, so my husband made some ofrendas for my aunt and my old housemate at a neighborhood site. While looking for photos for the ofrendas, I found this picture of me, at the All Saints Day pageant in kindergarten.

all saints day

I was Saint Louise de Marillac. I know this because it is written on the back in my mother’s perfect Palmer Method. Note  the edge of the Jack o’Lantern in the lower left. Way to mix those traditions.

We had All Saints Day pageants on a regular basis throughout grammar school. My favorite was the year my friends was St. Lucy. St. Lucy had her eyes put out for refusing to give in to some pagan demand or other.  My friend carried two blue marbles in a saucer to represent the eyes. No wonder we loved the martyr stories!

So Happy Halloween, All Saints, All Souls, Dia de los Muertos to you all. Gather in your memories and your loved ones. Eat lots of Halloween candy. I’ve been knitting my way through the World Series, photos to follow.

MLE

11 responses to “Day of the Dead

  1. I am so sorry for your losses.
    It’s been one of those years here, too, and just because we know it has to happen doesn’t seem to make it any easier. BTW, although your wardrobe has changed somewhat, you look so much the same. Love the photo!

  2. That’s a lot of loss all at once. Sorry for that.

  3. Sorry to hear about your losses. 😦

  4. I’m sorry to hear about your losses. Very sad.

    The St. Lucy story made me smile. 2 blue marbles. I never would have thought of it. Excellent.

  5. I’m sorry to hear your sad news, M’Lou. It does focus one’s thoughts.

    What a cute picture. Were you tall for your age?

  6. I’m sorry you’ve lost so many dear people. But it’s lovely that you’re honoring them.

  7. I’m so sorry to hear of your losses; they have all seemed to come at once, too… I have always loved the Day of the Dead traditions (and Samhain, which does the same kind of thing and with which I am more familiar). It seems very important to me to have time set aside to hold our memories of loved ones close.

  8. I’m sorry to hear about your losses but that picture of you is priceless!

  9. Singles Version? It was the Cranberry colourway, oh wait, I see what you mean, or don’t really. I’m not really sure what’s meant by single. The Rav entry says 4 ply, but single if that helps.

    Yes, at least it wasn’t stolen, or I’m assuming someone found it and pocketed it instead of handing it in, but it wasn’t stealing outright. That’s terrible that people have to do that. I remember being quite shocked to hear that about the baby blanket. Sad.

  10. So sorry to hear about your losses – its too much all at once.

  11. Oh, I am so very, very sorry. We’re dealing with impending loss here, and it’s hard.

    Much better to be young and enjoy a good gruesome martyr story!

Leave a Reply

