Pom Pom Tools

There is a great podcast available that is a collaboration between the BBC and the British Museum. (Found via Jean.)  It presents the History of the World in 100 Objects. Neil McGregor, the director of the museum, has talked about what is human about making objects, anticipating a need for certain tools, and making things beautiful as well as functional.  He was talking about a stone chopping tool in the first one I listened to, the oldest known man-made object.  (Knitting could be said to feature, obliquely, in that Mr. McGregor said that it is a human characteristic to make things more complicated than they strictly need to be.) You can go to the website and look at the objects, as well.

The theme of the whole series is going to be that we define ourselves as human by making things, and coming to depend on the things we make.  I’ve been making some hats with pom poms this week.  What does this tool say about me?


This pom pom maker is my equivalent of the hand axe, I guess.  I  made this one because I recently threw away the twenty-year old cardboard circles I have been hoarding.  Seriously.  I even hesitated before tossing them — two tiny cardboard circles. Of course, only a few weeks later, I decided the baby/toddler hat I was making needed a pom pom.  Off to the recycling and voila –  low tech solution.

What a human who works in a yarn store and therefore gets a discount probably should have as a representative object when it comes to pom poms:

The hats have turned out to be cute representative objects, however.  I have to get over and take some pictures of the hats with some adorable baby and toddler heads in them, but here’s how they look without babies.  (Can you see the wabbit tracks in the snow?)

Some of my students asked for hats that had patterning that wasn’t two-color.  I thought hugs and kisses would be nice for little valentines.

Each hat took about 120 yards/110 of bulky weight yarn.  I used Cascade 128 Superwash.  It’s a nice yarn, and doesn’t have that slippery feel some superwash yarns do. Any one interested in test knitting?

MLE


6 responses to “Pom Pom Tools

  1. Aw – those are cute hate! Maybe you can catch a wabbit and get it to model. 😉

  2. I’ll test knit! I need to do a hat for little cousin for Christmas anyway and these are really cute!

    Does said pom pom maker really work? I have one that I can’t figure out and cannot for the life of me remember how my grandmother used to do it (however those cardboard circles look really familiar).

  3. I’d be interested in a test knit, but my stash does not have any suitably soft chunky yarn. Wah.

    Thanks for the bbc link…

  4. That’s funny, the cardboard circles we used at school didn’t have slots at the side. I wonder if either of them makes a superior pompom.

    Love the wabbit twacks.

  5. Hello Mary Lou – first I’ll comment on your comment on Jean’s latest blog – my DIL says no, her throat was not blessed on any particular date – but she did have it blessed when she had to have her tonsils out.
    Now with regard to small pompom circles – all things of that ilk are turning up in the unpacking – even the red ball winder which had been missing for 3 years and my spindles to accompany the spinning wheel which I sold in Dublin.

  6. I would love to be a test knitter.

Leave a Reply

