Lou Shoots Spring Shots

I have been knitting, but mostly  the cone- of- silence variety.  Here’s one project I finished that I can show, a shop model of a baby blanket pattern of mine, in Berroco Weekend.  It’s a great acrylic -cotton blend, soft and pleasant to work with.  It should be great for kid’s clothes.

I am a disciple of the fabulous She Shoots Sheep Shots school of photography, but perhaps not Gale’s most stellar student.  I was taking a shot of the blanket, and thought to myself, WWGD?  So you be the judge.

blanket1 .JPG
Dullsville

blanket.JPG

Galesville

I’ve never liked those tulips, but this might change my mind.  Just sticking the blanket in front of the tulips changed how the color showed up.  Mysterious but fun.  Seriously, if you get a chance to take one of Gale’s workshops on photographing your fiber, do it.  We are hoping to lure her out to Minnesota again soon.

While I was out with the camera, I shot some of my favorite spring things.  Blue flowers:
mertensia.JPG

brunnera.JPG

And daffodils:
daffs.JPG

Why is it so difficult to have blue flowers in the summer?  Other than bachelors buttons and delphiniums, all the flowers the catalogues call blue are really purple.  I am open to suggestions for annuals or Zone 4 perennials.  Hmmm…zone 4 might be the problem.

And if this attempt at photography makes you long for actual arty type stuff, check out this exhibit I found via Chris:  deep fried gansey anyone?

-MLE

14 responses to “Lou Shoots Spring Shots

  1. Sweet blanket. Good idea with the tulips. When you find blue flowers, let me know.

  2. Oh, the tulips totally make for a fun shot! I hope you’re able to lure her back out here. 🙂

    Heh, that gansey STILL freaks me out. WHY?!

  3. The blanket and tulips shot is great, but the title of the post will be what I really remember — must find that Dr Seuss book wherein Luke’s duck licks lakes now…

  4. I know the answer! Pick me, pick me!

    ::bouncing up and down in my seat, waving my hand in the air::

    Blue flowers were the latest to evolve; that is why there are so few of them. Come back in a few millennia and there may be lots of them. For the curious, the first flowers were green, then yellow, and eventually red and orange and purple. I only remember the first two and the last color, don’t remember the order in the middle. (Hard to believe, but it was before my time.)

    Great Gale photo!

  5. Ok, I am extremely biased (and not a a little egotistical) in saying this ,but what a fine post this is. It is gratifying to see you pull out the color contrast and getting close tricks , I love the tulip shots. Lovely blanket, too. Where is the pattern?
    And also enjoyed that link, tho some of it is a little twitchy to look at.
    What about blue lobelia? There are some really blue ones, just hard to find.

  6. You’re right — those tulips really made the blanket colors pop. I need a workshop with Gale, very clearly. And I love your picture of the forget-me-nots; they’re some of my favorite flowers. I miss living up north, where they bloom all over the hillsides right about this time of year…

  7. travellersyarn

    Wow – I need s0me photography classes. Think contrast, Ingrid! Can you send Gale to Sydney, Australia?

  8. Ooooh, the contrast is lovely!

    As sheep shots asked, where is the pattern?
    Can it be revealed?

  9. Love the tulip and blanket picture! And if you lived in Texas, you’d have bluebonnets all over the place this time of year….

  10. Everyone has lovely flower photos today, but I’ve put your brunnera on my desktop.

  11. Yes, where IS the pattern? Is it slip stitch of some kind? You flower pics are gorgeous.

  12. I see you have a blue garden, too. Beautiful photos of your blanket.

  13. No, I agree, the blanket certainly makes those tulips! Lovely shot — and the bluebells too!

  14. for spring blue-ness, try the minature blue iris (i’m in 55447 and a neighbor grows them just fine)….also if you can manage over-wintering an annual, try “Blue Angel” Sage, which is like an intense sky blue….. otherwise, get some silk flowers from JoAnn and as soon as the snow melts, push the stems into the ground (might want to do this at 3AM) the stiffer stems work best when dealing with partially thawed soil.

Leave a Reply

