POW Gloves Circa 1944

As part of my current purge project, I have finally tackled this suitcase, which contains some of my father’s WW2 memorabilia, as well as postcards and travel brochures from my parents honeymoon in 1947.  I think I am far enough away from my dad’s death that I tackled it with curiosity and nostalgia instead of grief.

Some of the items are sad, some are rather entertaining.

Among the publications was this, sent because my uncle was in a German POW camp.

Who knew I’d find knitting?  On the last page I spotted this pattern, named “Useful Gloves”

If anyone is interested in this pattern, I’d be glad to do a pdf to send. here‘s the pdf. Off for more sorting.  French postcards, anyone?

-MLE

14 responses to “POW Gloves Circa 1944

  1. Wow, this is wonderful! What a treasure trove!
    Is that someone’s hand-written notes on the glove pattern?
    I hope when you say “purge” you really mean “look.” You won’t get rid of that stuff, will you?

  2. Oh no, I’ve been getting rid of lots of stuff, though. Stacks of mags, books, etc. The suitcase is going to stay! The notes are from my dad to my mom, saying that there is news in there about the camp her brother was in. There are also notes in the two booklets! I’m saving those to bring when I visit my sister.

  3. Don’t toss the stuff – some of it might be good to donate. It’s all very cool!

  4. I’d like to have a pdf of the gloves pattern, if possible.

    Thanks, Andrea

  5. I’d love the pdf if you’re doing one. I’ve tried doing it, but the type has shrunk a long way. Thanks.

  6. travellersyarn

    I can actually read the pattern when I click on it! It looks like an excellent basic fingering weight glove pattern.

  7. Wow, that’s an amazing collection of memorabilia. I would love to have a pdf of the gloves. That would be wonderful.

  8. I was moved by your story of your uncle. That generation endured so much pain. And for the knitting I imagine it was a way to do a little to relieve the distress.

  9. What a treasure trove indeed! I’m glad that you were able to let it sit until it brings happier memories. I bet those postcards are fascinating 🙂

  10. What a treasure trove. I could get lost for days in that. Looking forward to the french postcards! Spoken as someone who inherited her uncle’s lifelong collection, to add to her own shoeboxes full.

  11. Thanks, Mary Lou, for sharing the pattern. What a piece of history!

  12. Fabulous! It must have been terribly interesting to go through all of that. What a great thing to have.

  13. thanks for the pdf! I’ll enjoy seeing what else you can share from the treasure box.

  14. Very cool! FYI The Rare Books library at the University of Iowa has this title from 1942 through 1945 but it does look rare. Thanks for the pdf. I might just make them.

Leave a Reply

