On Lightest Wings

Another found item from my Great Grandmother.

Finding items like this card make me happy that it has survived all these years, but adds to the sadness this time of year often brings.  The card belonged to my mother, who, like many children of immigrants, never met her grandparents.  I imagine the excitement of the card arriving with Irish stamps, from a person they only knew by their mother’s stories. My mother died when I was 21, so her grandchildren only know her by stories.  I don’t mean to sound maudlin.  It might be the darkness.  (We haven’t seen the sun in a while.) I get a little weepy at the turn of the year, thinking of all the loved ones I’ll never see again. Then, like a good Catholic school-girl, begin to feel guilty about all the loved ones still alive that I have done enough to keep in contact with.   I think I need to get outside, even if it is 2 degrees and snowing.  My father used to say to “get outside and blow the stink off ya.”  I think that goes for the brain as well.  Then back to deadline knitting.

So don’t listen to me, go have fun, hug everyone, knit, read, eat and do what ever makes you happy. I send wishes for “good friends and plenty” to all for 2011.

MLE

10 responses to “On Lightest Wings

  1. It’s dark and melancholy here today as well, with rain rather than snow. Hope the walk clears out the cobwebs and the rest of the day picks up for you. Happy New Year Mary Lou.

  2. Yeah, we’ve had enough of the darkness. That was good advice from your pop. Happy New Year! Hope to see you in it!

  3. Happy New Year to you!

  4. Mmmm, I know, funny time. Well put. Hugs and Happy New Year.

  5. When I read the words on the card I am sure she meant every word the poem expresses. Happy New Year.

  6. Happy New Year! This time of year, I keep reminding myself that every day is a little bit longer than the one before — although during those really cold days in late January and early February, I have trouble believing that!

  7. Hope you feel better soon! You should come up to Ottawa for a few days. Plenty of sun here, no snow and excellent dairy products. Any news on the red sweater?

    Take care!

  8. *hug* Happy New Year!

    And, um, brrrrrrrrr!

  9. I think the darkness and the holidays tend to make lost loved ones feel more present somehow, both a sad and a good thing to have those memories. I think your dad has the right idea – fresh air to blow away the cabin fever! Even if the air is FREEZING!! brrr… Take care, and happy new year.

  10. Aw, that’s a wonderful keepsake. I agree, this time of year tends towards reflections of those we’ve lost, those we never knew and those that are around but can be way too annoying to actually talk to more than the holidays. 🙂

    I don’t think I’d give up the melancholy nature of memories if it meant not having those remembrances at all.

Leave a Reply

