Happy St. Patrick’s Day – Éirinn go Brách

Here’s the cover of a book I got from my Grandmother’s sister – they emigrated from Ireland in the early 1900’s. It’s the Official Handbook of the Irish Free State, printed in 1932.

IMG_0996

The book is supported by advertisements in the back.  Like this one:

IMG_1001

Would you like to See Ireland First?  In October?  Then join me and Theresa Gaffey for a Knitting Tour of Ireland.  We have been asked to host this tour, organized by a local travel agent.  The pace will be relaxed, the company good, and the price reasonable.  Fly from anywhere and meet us in Ireland.  Remember,

To Fashion Art that still shall be Supreme, the Hand Retains the Key.

IMG_0999

Now I’m off to bake some soda bread.  No caraway seeds, EVER.

5 responses to “Happy St. Patrick’s Day – Éirinn go Brách

  1. What a very cool book to have! 🙂

  2. There was a bakery near my grandmother’s summer house. We bought hermits there — big, soft, iced molasses cookies. I was ALWAYS the one who got the single caraway seed, and it wrecked the entire cookie for me.

  3. Do you happen to know if there’s a deadline for registering for the trip, or is just until space fills up? I’ve got another two weeks before I know where I’ll be living in October.

  4. Wow, a knitting tour of Ireland. I would be very tempted, except that I am doing a knitting tour of Estonia in May-June…

  5. What a wonderful tour idea! Sadly I won’t be able to join you, but that’s because I’m off to Shetland around about then!

Leave a Reply

