Hand Sewing is the New Yoga?

I’m suddenly seeing hand stitching and sewing everywhere.  I blame Alabama Chanin, whose name is actually Nathalie, not Alabama, I recently discovered.  A number of my pals, online and otherwise, have fallen down that rabbit hole.  The two Gales are prime examples. One friend even said she wished she were getting married again so she could make an Alabama Chanin wedding dress.

UPDATE – the first post in five months from Mason Dixon is all about Alabama Chanin!

My hand sewing in the past century has been limited to hems, buttons, sweater seams and working on Christmas presents with the present gang.  (An aside, a woman approached me at a party whose daughter is friends with my goddaughter Teresa.  The mom said she learned to embroider from Teresa and thanked me!)  I have had a bag of these needles for several years.

parabola label fullParabola label

They seemed too important to just donate, but I didn’t know what to do with them, so they sat unloved and ignored in their zip lock bag in a drawer.  Eureka!  What hand sewer doesn’t want to make sure she isn’t sewing with “worthless, rotten, brass-headed needles?”  They came along as party favors of a sort, and are now living in new homes.

I haven’t sewn clothes for myself in years.  I nearly got sucked down the fabric rabbit hole when I was in Maine because we went on a field trip to the cutest fabric store I have ever seen, Clementine in Rockland. (Shop owner got some needles, too, of course.)

craft mob

Oooohhh – of course I’m going to sew myself several new dresses.  I need that washi tape.  I found some gadgets including ERASABLE HIGHLIGHTER!!  Then I had to copy all the cool kids and buy a yard of cotton-silk blend to play with in the dye tent.  Cotton and silk take colors in different ways, those in the know tell me, so how fun to test it out.

I bought a beautiful silver-grey, but because I was teaching all day Saturday, didn’t really have time to play with it.   The talented dye mistress of Starcroft Fibers , Jani, took pity on me.  Tied, dyed and stuffed in a mason jar for good measure.  It’s gorgeous.

scarf 1

Now I have to deal with the raw edges. Maybe I’ll use a fabulous Parabola needle.  So, here’s the big question – rolled edge, hand-sewn on a silk scarf.  Stay stitch, or not?

6 responses to “Hand Sewing is the New Yoga?

  1. With regret, I don’t know how to finish that beautiful fabric. As far as hand stitching goes, it will NEVER replace knitting, but I am still loving it a lot.

    • And BTW – did you see that the first blog post in five months from Mason Dixon Knitting is all about Alabama Chanin?

      On Tue, Sep 16, 2014 at 3:47 PM, Yarnerinas wrote:

      >

  2. Stay stitch. Then trim close, roll, and enjoy the hand-stitching. The stay stitching will make the rolling part easier.

    I am toying with leaving mine unfinished — the tattered edge is kind of lovely.

  3. It’s years since I did much stitching, but dyeing … it has my heart at the moment.

  4. i think it’s gorgeous just the way it is…..who will see the edges when it’s draped? (yeah. I’m not a sewer, can you tell???)

  5. Pingback: The Best Stitches In Embroidery | Create Resumes | Find Jobs | FastJobz.Com

Leave a Reply

