There and Back Again Part 2

On to Lincoln for the Tell Them of Us premiere. While wandering in York for a few morning hours before my train, I saw this, which seemed appropriate.

2014-11-07 13.38.53

While chatting with a Poppy volunteer in the York train station I mentioned the purpose of my excursion to Lincoln.  (She asked. Really.) She showed me her vintage Lincolnshire regiment badge, and told me of her long family history in Lincolnshire, then gave me a special centenary poppy pin, of which there are few, to give to a Crowder family member, which I did. That type of personal connection seems so much more evident in a small country, and I was touched, as was Mr. Crowder.

I am a bit late to the party on this one, photos and blog posts have been done by many. See Catherine, Liz Lovick http://northernlace.wordpress.com/ and Juniper for some other stories and photos.

Friday night was a concert in the Chapter House of Lincoln Cathedral. Organized by the indefatigable Jane Lawrence, it featured two groups from local schools singing songs of WW1.  I understand there will be some of it available on the DVD.

IMG_0586 IMG_0587 2014-11-07 19.21.55

The singers wore hats and ganseys knitted for the film, quickly removed when it was time for cake.

PhotoELF Edits: 2014:11:10 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resize

The Cathedral is stunning.

I have always held and proposed against all comers to maintain that the Cathedral of Lincoln is out and out the most precious piece of architecture in the British Isles’  -John Ruskin

Who am I to argue? (Taken right after the concert.)

IMG_0584

The film premiere was held in a University auditorium and it was full, and buzzing. The film was moving, the costuming exceptional, and there was a roar of applause for the names of the knitters in the credits. There is still a bit of post-production work to do, so the film isn’t available yet, but will be.  I’ll keep you posted.

Tell them of US gang

Pauline Loven, the founder of the feast, took Jane, Liz and I for a drive out to Thimbleby Church and to see some of the filming sites. It was so kind of her, as I’m sure she was exhausted. Lincolnshire has its own style of thatched cottages, seen in the film and in these photos.  They even have a connection to Jamestown, where the first houses were built by a Lincolnshire builder.

PhotoELF Edits: 2014:11:10 --- Save - Overwrite --- crop; resize

The costumes are now part of an exhibition at The Collection, the museum in Lincoln. There are items for children to try on, dolls to dress, and even a free book let of vintage children’s patterns. The exhibition is designed (by Pauline) to have a level of exploration and touching.  Even a vintage letter in Grace’s Cardigan pocket.

letter in pocket playing with doll

Jane and I attended Evensong at Lincoln Cathedral.  Jane not only has a wicked sense of humor, but is quite knowledgeable about cathedrals and music, which added to the fun. I must say, watching the little choristers was a treat. They behaved like such little boys, then when the moment was right, out came the voices of angels. The arrow is pointing to a man who was so happy to chastise me for taking a photo during the service, which was not, in fact, due to start for about 10 minutes. I’m sure it made his day.

bad girl

It was quite wonderful to be a part of this. Visiting another place with a purpose beyond seeing the sights, and with people to finally meet in person is the way to travel.  Speaking of which, after many years of virtual friendship, I had lunch with Jean.  It was delightful, we discussed everything but knitting it seemed.  Jean even shared a bottle of her precious cider with me!  Here she is, looking as though I might be about to tell her something awful, but wearing Relax.  It is a perfect name for such a lovely, cozy sweater.

IMG_0574

5 responses to “There and Back Again Part 2

  1. Looks like you had a very memorable trip. How wonderful!

  2. I’m adding Lincoln to my (very long) list of things still to see in England! Glad you had a good time — I look forward to seeing the film.

  3. I was supposed to go to Shetland with Jean and Kristie last year and was so sorry that I couldn’t go in the end and so didn’t get to meet her, and sorry not to have met you in Lincoln when again family commitments got in the way, I would have loved to be the third at the table when the two of you met up. I was pretty miffed that I couldn’t make it to the film premiere too, and not just because of my involvement with the film. I did my first degree in Lincoln, met my husband there and my two oldest were born there. I have some happy memories of the place and yes the cathedral is perfection.

  4. It really was a memorable weekend and it was especially good meeting you and spending time together. Lovely to see those pix from the concert.

  5. What a lovely article!

Leave a Reply

