My sister went to Australia…

And all I got was this gorgeous yarn:

2015-01-11 10.02.41

I had never heard of Biggan Design, yet now I’ve seen it, and Biggan Ryd-Dups in several places.    Look at these colors – I couldn’t figure out a way to put them on the page here.  The yarn is merino crossed with Border Leicester.  According to the website it offers the “softness of merino and the durability of the Border Leicester’s longer, stronger fibres. The result is a yarn with a wonderful buoyancy and spring that makes it fun and easy to knit with.”  It certainly feels like it will be.

There was also a post card in the package from the shop where she bought it,   The Button Bar, in Adelaide Arcade.  Oh my, I would love to be able to shop there, wouldn’t you?

2015-01-11 09.36.15

Rundle_Mall_Fountain

Shopping_Center_SA

I can’t wait to start swatching.  A  hat, a cowl?  Do I have enough for one of Kirsten Kapur’s fabulous designs?  Or maybe I’ll just pet it for a while.

9 responses to “My sister went to Australia…

  1. YUM! The colors are wonderful!

  2. The yarn certainly sounds delightful!

  3. Oh what a wonderful looking store!! As if there weren’t already enough reasons to visit Australia.

    Thanks for the shout out. xo

  4. Wow. I would like to shop there too.

  5. That is a LOT of colors! I wonder how accurate the color representation is — it looks like they’ve Photoshopped the different colors onto the same photo. Still — that’s a lot of colors!!

    What is “first cross”? Is that like olive oil’s “first cold press”?!

  6. Phew, I thought I might be the only knitter mad enough to pet her yarn ;o)

  7. I read to the end of your entry and then lost about 40 minutes while I explored Kirsten’s designs. The ol’ Ravelry queue just got longer.

    I have some yarn in my stash that seems to serve the same function as some therapy dogs. Also, there are the travel souvenirs…

    • Kirsten’s designs are lovely, aren’t they? I really laughed over yarn as therapy dog. Better, since no feeding or walking required!

      On Thu, Jan 15, 2015 at 12:50 PM, Yarnerinas wrote:

      >

  8. OMG, and O You Poor Thing. Sweet!

Leave a Reply

