Is drop spindling haunting me?

I have been going through a major clean and purge for the past month.  I don’t know what it is about the autumn that seems to bring it out in me.  Maybe because I am indoors a bit more?  I took a before picture of my home work space, but I may not be able to bring myself to show it to you.  I hang my head with shame when I see it.  Maybe I’ll wait till there is a before and after.  I’m getting there.  I have donated three full bags, contractor-size, of nice yarn.  I have plenty left, believe me. (I have not gone the full Konmari, but fall somewhere between there and the KayAnn method.)

In a file of textile crapola, I found this:

invitation to spin

No idea where it came from, or how long I have had it.  It appeared to be mimeographed.  (Just kidding, probably on a Selectric.)  It went into the recycling bin, along with so much more.  This was also in the file, and I will keep it.  I still have the yarn I was planning to use – Harrisville shetland bought when Ram Wools in downtown Minneapolis went out of business…

harrisville

 

I haven’t spent as much time indoors this fall as I would think.  A work trip to Salt Lake City was fun, and boy have things changed there in 15 years.  I didn’t make it to Blazing Needles, it was just too long a trip on transit.  The weather has been glorious.  We still have some roses hanging around.

ramblin red in the rain

And there is plenty of  chard, broccoli, lettuce and acorn squash.  These heirloom carrots are a bit scary.  They really are purple on the outside – that is not some sort of radiation poisoning.  I set the carrot on a step to give you an idea of how big it really is.  My beets are much smaller.

extreme carrot

I may try to roast one whole and see what happens.  Suggestions?

11 responses to “Is drop spindling haunting me?

  1. Sometimes I too wonder what the hell I held onto stuff like that for. No ideas about the carrot, but I love the colour.

    • I wondered with every box and bag full. I even threw away my High School yearbook. After all, I don’t have kids who will want to page through it to laugh at me and my friends!

      On Tue, Nov 3, 2015 at 2:26 PM, Yarnerinas wrote:

      >

  2. It is so mysterious why we hang on to some things. I’m sure it wasn’t mysterious to the old us – maybe the old us should’ve left explanatory post-its (if they were invented at the time, that is) for future us…

    That carrot is TERRIFYING.

    • I picked another one for a friend to take to her grandsons. Extreme carrots. Love the idea of a note to future self.

      On Wed, Nov 4, 2015 at 7:57 AM, Yarnerinas wrote:

      >

  3. I’m intrigued by that Fair Isle pattern. Was it to be an all-over?

    • I think so, Shandy. I had a quick shematic of a modified drop shoulder cardigan scribbled on another sheet of paper. It was going to be a wardrobe mainstay – go with everything cardi. Very successful one, as you can see. Feel free to use the chart. It may have come from an Anatolian knitting charts book that I borrowed once.

      On Wed, Nov 4, 2015 at 9:30 AM, Yarnerinas wrote:

      >

  4. Once upon a time all carrots were purple; orange ones were the result of careful selective plant-breeding. Congratulations on the book!

    • Thanks, Sharon. I looked at the purple to orange trail and rumor has it the Dutch did it to honor the house of Orange. Might be rural myth, though.

      On Wed, Nov 4, 2015 at 3:55 PM, Yarnerinas wrote:

      >

  5. Pingback: Stumbling Over Chaos :: Linkity saw snowflakes last week and +71F/21.7C this week…

  6. My workspace is also frightening. I applaud you for digging in. I took a couple hours and just organized the clutter and was amazed at how much yarn was hiding in my office. Though the number of cords/cables to electronics that no longer exist far exceeds the skein count. (That carrot looks fabulous, if you ask me).

  7. Pingback: Revolution in Handspinning | Yarnerinas

Leave a Reply

