Drive By with Lightning Bugs

Trip home to New Jersey.  Dramatis personae: Me, and a kid in the airport.  I was working on a baby blanket, with the project bag on the floor. (More on the blanket soon.)

“What are you doing?”  He seems about 4, maybe 5. “I’m knitting, making a baby blanket.”

He points to the yarn yarn trailing down to the bag .  “Is that a yo-yo?”  No, I tell him, it’s yarn.  “Yarn?”  Then the light of understanding shines in his eyes.   “Ooooh, so it’s a blanket for a baby cat.”

I was home for a family wedding, which was great fun, except that the mother of the bride had to leave right after the ceremony and have an emergency appendectomy.  Really, what are the odds?  The wedding was at a lovely B and B, former goat farm,  in Bucks County, Pennsylvania.  It was  perfect setting when there are lots of little ones in tow – plenty of space to run around.  Wouldn’t you want to catch lightning bugs with this crew?

2013-07-12 14.43.05

Best lighting bug line?  My 9 year old great nephew told me the next one he caught would be named Bob.  “It’s kind of an old-fashioned name, but I like it.”  Catching lightning bugs was a regular activity of summer evenings in my childhood, but I rarely see them here in Minnesota. The other night my husband rushed in to tell me that Bob was in the backyard.

And crafting was all the rage.  Are Rainbow Looms a hot commodity where you live?  I received many of these snazzy rubber band bracelets:

IMG_1219

A knitting student update: this guy is still knitting, two years later!

IMG_0214

He told me there is a knitting club at his school and he goes every week.  “Some people (glares at his twin sister) say knitting is boring, but I like it, don’t you?”  His older brother scoffed that all Nick makes are squares and rectangles.  I reassured Nick that many, many knitters don’t get beyond squares and rectangles.  Nick also things we should write a knitting book together.  “But not now, because I’m on summer vacation.”  Whew, I thought I was going to have to squeeze that in!

11 responses to “Drive By with Lightning Bugs

  1. What great lines! I look forward to your collaboration with Nick.

  2. What great nieces and nephews you have!

  3. You have a fabulous, and clearly entertaining, family me thinks. Have to feel sorry for the mother of the bride. My sister’s getting married in September, I hope my Mum can avoid a similar fate!

  4. Such a cute knitter, and a sweet wedding photo.

  5. what a great post, I kind decide if my favorite part is Bob the Lightening Bug with the Old Fashioned Name or that photo. (it seems like an especially good year for lightening bugs-last summer was also)
    Hope the patient is recovered. yikes-that must have been a painful ceremony for her.

  6. Thank you for a wonderful wedding post. I enjoyed reading it a lot. Thanks
    for sharing.

  7. Love it. I’m glad to see that Nick is thinking big.

  8. The first time I saw lightening bugs was on a family vacation in Kentucky many years ago – don’t know that I’ve ever seen one in MN. They are such magical creatures…

    Hope the mother of the bride is doing better – wow, what timing!

  9. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme of this site.
    It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard
    to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and appearance.
    I must say you’ve done a great job with this. In addition, the blog loads extremely
    fast for me on Firefox. Exceptional Blog!

  10. I love it! I also love the flower girl with the hiphop hand signs. And I have lightening bug envy – we don’t get them around here, so I always get a little overexcited when in lightening bug territory, even now…

  11. Hello there, just became alert to your blog through
    Google, and found that it’s really informative.
    I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you
    continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing.
    Cheers!

Leave a comment