This Old Horse

It’s been a sad few days here.  My beautiful mare Holley colicked and had to be euthanized on Monday night.  She was 27, which is a good long life for a horse.   She touched a lot of lives besides mine.  Here’s a few shots of her:

eating – her favorite pastime,

patiently modeling knitwear,

winning a medal at the Special Olympics,

and letting my nephew think he was leading her.

You never saw a horse more careful of children.  I loved introducing kids to the world of the horse with Ms. Holley.

I’m going to miss having her in my life.  It’s been a wonderful ride.

MLE

19 responses to “This Old Horse

  1. *hugs*

    So sorry to hear about Holley – but I’m glad you had such a long and wonderful time with her!

  2. Sorry for your loss, she was beautiful.

  3. Mary Lou, she was beautiful, and I know you loved her. I’m so sorry for your loss – there are no right words, but I know you’ve lost a family member. I’ll be sending you comforting thoughts.

  4. I too am sorry to hear about Holley. It’s so difficult to loose a beloved family member.

  5. Oh ML, I am so so sorry. Many hugs. I know she was a very special horse.

  6. She sounds like an amazing horse – its rare enough to find a human who is reliably good with children! I so sorry for your loss.

  7. Mary Lou, I am sad for you. She does sound like an amazing horse and of course she was lucky to have known you.

  8. Oh, I am sorry to hear about your horse! Unparallelled as a knitwear model, I am sure, and she sounds wonderful all round.

  9. Oh, Mary Lou, I am so very sorry. I know what a loss this is – truly I do. Thank you for sharing these beautiful pictures with us! (I especially love the one of your nephew leading her – what a wonderful thing.) I’ll be holding you in my thoughts.

  10. I’m so sad to hear about Holley! She was much loved and she sounds like a horse that even I wouldn’t be afraid of.

  11. I’m so sorry. Not a horse person, but any warm-blooded animal that is loved becomes part of the family.

  12. May Molly rest in peace. She sounds like she was a good soul and will surely go to horsey heaven. And if horses/dogs don’t go to heaven when they die, I want to go where they go.

  13. What a darling horse. She looks so gentle with your nephew in that photo. How old was she when she came to you?

  14. I’m so sorry! Holley was a beautiful horse, and seems to have been just as smart as she was pretty.

  15. Sorry to hear about your horse. I love that shot with your nephew “leading” her.

  16. When my dog died I was surprised how sad I became and it took a very long time for me to accept it.
    Thanks you for the comment. The iPad is fun to work with. however, I am a little disappointed. There are no apps for blogging and that was my main reason for buying it.

  17. I’m so sorry that you have lost such an old and dear friend!

  18. A belated hug from me … it is always hard to lose an old friend and especially so when it is unexpected. She looks to have been a beautiful lady x

  19. sorry for your loss. But know that wherever Holley is, she is happy. She lived a good life with you and is thankful for you giving her that good life.

Leave a Reply

