Gift Bag Knitting

I am well known in my family for not wrapping gifts.  I wrapped gifts one Christmas season in a jewelry store.  It ruined me for life.  (What kind of ribbon would you like on this teeny, tiny, cheap-ass ring box, sir? The oversized silver plated tray with no box, madam?) Mostly, now, I either put it in a brown paper bag or a paper gift bag with some tissue paper.  The reusable paper gift bags are perfect for me.  Sometimes I weaken if there is a child involved.  Great kid story –on his 5th birthday, my nephew had a small party.  Most of the gifts were presented in paper gift bags.  He “whispered” to his mother “I guess they don’t know how to wrap packages.”  That’s me.

The Galworthy Gift Bag, which Kirsten Kapur designed for Drop Dead Easy Knits, might be a little something to keep in my knitting-on-the-go pouch for some mindless knitting that could turn into a part of the present, as well as the gift bag.  (Hey, I see that Amazon has dropped the price of Drop Dead Easy Knits.  Not sure why, but that means it comes out to about .40 US per pattern!!  So go buy it! You won’t be sorry!

Kirsten designed the bag in Neighborhood Fiber Company Penthouse Silk Fingering for a truly luscious, special gift. Silk sure does take the color, doesn’t it?  You could use any fingering weight yarn for it, though.  Perfect for leftovers.

knitting, book, hand knit, models

I was reminded of this pattern by Barbara Benson – the clever mosaic and lace knitting podcaster in her latest episode, Favorite 5 – Knitted Market Bags (mostly).  (Although she missed the real market bag in the book, Searsport Market Bag.)

Here’s some action/detail shots of the gift bag Kirsten made before the book photo shoot:

You could even put yarn in it to give away.  Is there a word for a yarn turducken?

 

5 responses to “Gift Bag Knitting

  1. I am using a lot of furoshiki lately, the Japanese wrapping cloths. Very environmentally-friendly, and you don’t need tape or ribbon! Even better when you get fabric on sale.

    http://mathomhouse.typepad.com/mommy_cooks/2007/03/furoshiki.html

  2. Hmm. You could knit a series of nesting gift bags, like Russian dolls – what would be in the last, teeniest bag?

    • Gretchen (aka stashdragon)

      Nesting bags! Great idea. Teeniest bag could contain a ring . . . maybe a simple gemstone . . . oh, all right, maybe a sliver of paper with a fortune written on it, like a fortune cookie.

  3. Yarn turducken – we need that! I, too, am deficient in the gift-wrapping area; this is a great idea 🙂

Leave a comment