Hat and Horses

I lost my favorite hat while in Lincoln. I think I left it in the Chapter House of the Cathedral, so maybe it will be there as a relic, years from now.  I set out to make a warm, stranded-color-work-in-worsted-weight-yarn replacement.  I used some Swans Island worsted in natural gray, and some Malabrigo Rios that I had from an unhappy hat that had been ripped out and rolled back into a ball.


Pine point preview collage

As long as I was doing that, I figured I may as well make a pattern that would be a nice intro to stranded colorwork for some students who want to dip a toe in the watery wastes between Fair Isle and Norway. I named the hat Pine Point, after the park where I ride.

In keeping with the hat’s Norwegian roots, I found the perfect setting for the money shot:

Pine point with ZannahIt really isn’t easy to get such a sweet, calm look, especially on a very cold and windy day.

Pine point CollageThis version of Pine Point was made in two colors of Liberty Wool, a solid and a self-striping color.  It is really fun to watch the color changes.  The students in question are on their second versions of the hat, so I think it is easy enough.  The biggest compliment was from a more experienced color knitter, who liked it because “I can actually talk to someone while I’m knitting it!”

Details on Ravelry or Patternfish (which handles the EU/VAT problem for the knitter.)

5 responses to “Hat and Horses

  1. It’s a fabulous hat! and I love the photos, outtakes and all.

  2. Love this hat – and what can I say? I’m a sucker for a cute horse nose like that! 🙂

  3. Another experienced knitter here who likes the look of this. And who really enjoyed all those outtakes 😉

  4. I have to say, I’m loving the sight of all that snow, too! Wish you could send some out to us!

Leave a Reply

