Post Election Poetry Volume One

I have few words – what ones I did have I have spent.  I was serving as an election judge for 15 hours on the day of the election, and saw wonderful, heart strengthening actions and people.  I will try to hold that close.  Since I have no words, for a few days, I’ll post those of others. If you have any recommendations, please share them.

Ah, love, let us be true
To one another! for the world, which seems
To lie before us like a land of dreams,
So various, so beautiful, so new,
Hath really neither joy, nor love, nor light,
Nor certitude, nor peace, nor help for pain;
And we are here as on a darkling plain
Swept with confused alarms of struggle and flight,
Where ignorant armies clash by night.

The last stanza of Dover Beach, by Matthew Arnold

8 responses to “Post Election Poetry Volume One

  1. Pingback: Stumbling Over Chaos :: Linkity says goodbye to Leonard

  2. Carol in Long Island

    Hi Mary Lou,
    How about the Prayer of St. Francis of Assisi?
    We’ve seen where hate speech has gotten us. Maybe it’s time to give love a try.

  3. Sending you strength from across the pond. We have been there (brexit) and have a similarly turbulent time to face. Knitting will help. If knitting is not enough, there is always gin.

  4. I too served as an Election Judge and had a very long day followed by, I don’t know, anguish? Are you familiar with Chawne’s blog completely cauchy? She has posted a poem that captures a different aspect of what many are feeling.

  5. I was also an election judge, but in my tiny rural town of 679 registered voters. (What with new and immigrating votes, we ended up with 779). The most interesting thing was counting the paper ballots; 169 people decided they either did not trust the machines or they didn’t want to wait in line.

    If a ballot started out with a Clinton vote, that Democratic lean followed all the way down the ballot. If it started with a Trump vote, there was no telling who else the person would vote for. Interesting.

  6. I like this approach. I am also out of words , and frankly, afraid to think too hard on what happened. (I guess a lot of knitters are also polling officials because I also spent the 15 hour day day minding the ballot box (tabulator) in my heavily Democratic district. We tallied it up and went out into the night to celebrate. You know the rest.)

Leave a comment