Yet Another Blanche Dubois Moment

Reposted because WordPress is being weird.

Like Miss Dubois, I have always depended on the kindness of strangers.  In this case, strangers who sent me these:

debbie-bliss

I made a baby blanket for my newest great-nephew out in San Diego. The yarn, Debbie Bliss Cotton Denim Aran, was a gift from a coworker at the Yarnery staff stash swap. It worked out well and washed up beautifully, quite soft and cozy.

I received a lovely thank-you note from my niece about how perfect it was, and how she was the envy of her new mommy class. A short time later, I  received an email from her. The blanket was so admired by members of the class that someone in the class  STOLE it. Can you imagine?Of course, I promised to make another one, but the yarn has been discontinued and I didn’t have quite enough left. I could have used a different yarn, but I wanted to try to recreate the lost one.   Generous souls on Ravelry shared from their stash, many simply out of the goodness of their hearts. So thanks hockeyme, AimyBamy, joymichelle and Mauri. I finally have enough to make a similar blanket, perhaps a bit bigger to accomodate the growing boy.

I mean, look at this kid, doesn’t he need a blanket?

img_2877_2

In order to celebrate the generosity of knitters, I decided to have a little give-away contest. I think my sob-story of the stolen blanket helped me win over the knitters on Ravelry who offered yarn.  So,  I will give away three skeins of Misti Alpaca Chunky in a beautiful dark olive green to someone with a good story.  The color is much prettier when photographed by someone besides me.

misti

Write a comment with your sob story of why you need this yarn and I’ll choose a winner at random. Or maybe the comment that makes me snort the most.

12 responses to “Yet Another Blanche Dubois Moment

  1. I just don’t believe it. That’s really shocking and it’s such a shame. I can’t believe someone would do that. How could you use it with good conscience? Especially as they’d have to really hide it since they can’t really say they bought it at Target. How sad.

    Once again, proof that knitters are good people. I’m glad you’ll be able to re-do it.

    Captain Adorable is right. He certainly is a cutie!

  2. Oh, man. I don’t think I have a sob story that can beat having a hand-knitted baby blanket stolen by a fellow mom! I’m ashamed on behalf of my fellow San Diegan. I’m so glad knitters came through for you!

    In the interests of finding some kind of story to share, though, I can tell you about the lace-knitting tragedy that occurred some time ago (I’m over it now). I was sitting in the doctor’s office (this was during the time when I had lots and lots of endless follow-up visits after back surgery) knitting Simurgh, when an elderly woman using a walker came out from the back and headed for the front door. No-one got up to help her, including the very healthy young man sitting right next to the door, so I hopped up (from across the room) and rushed over to get the door, catching my knitting with my foot in the process and ripping half of my stitches off the needles and tearing out a giant ribbon of lace knitting. I almost cried; I also almost poked the lazy youth with my knitting needles. (The stitches were eventually recovered and I managed to fix everything, whew!)

  3. Well, I hope that mom with the stolen blanket gets her comeuppance! May her baby puke all over her after throwing a huge tantrum at the grocery store!

    I don’t have a sob story but I do have a lovely square of Malabrigo of yours! I’m happy to have found your blog and even happier to have worked with you on the afghan in Peter’s memory, thank you so much!

  4. Ridiculous karma, swiping a handknit BABY BLANKET??!!
    I don’t have a sob story to tel but wanted to comment on your title, just perfect.

  5. This reminds me a story from when my daughter was about four years old. It was graduation day at the daycare, so I took her there in the beautiful, lacey, white sweater that my mother in law had just finished knitting for her. It was truly gorgeous and Nadia was so proud of it. I on the other hand, clearly had only half a brain (it has since shrunk further, I think). We hung the cardi up in the hallway and I went off to my own school. Of course, by the end of the day it was gone. Gone forever. It still causes me pain to think about it. I try to assuage it by knitting for both of them – lacey scarves for my mother in law and soft scarves of chunky alpaca in a beautiful olive green for my daughter. Why, it’s just her colour!

  6. Pingback: Stumbling Over Chaos :: The reason you can’t leave anything unattended around here

  7. I can’t believe someone stole a baby blanket!!! Geez, that’s bad. Well, I’m glad some Ravelers came to your rescue.

  8. the gall of someone to steal a babies blankie!! How generous of the ladies on rav to help out though, there are some great folks! No real sob stories here aside from those where size was an issue. When i first began knitting i was clueless, self taught. In clothing i buy at the store i usually wear a L or XL. (my daughter and i share) SO when i decided to make her a cool shawl for fall i made a L (it showed no measurements just sizes) Needless to say it cost nearly a hundred dollars and could be a xmas tree skirt. I still have it and plan to frog the yarn and reknit it but for now, it sits in my closet as a reminder that knit sizes run much larger than store sizes!

  9. Stealing at all is bad enough, but stealing a handknit baby blanket, that the owner is showing off proudly…. I’m all ridgid with ire! May the misfortunes be hefty for that mother!

    I’ve never experiences something even close to that… my worst/hardest yarn experience was knitting a fair isle vest for my father only to discover that it was clearly too small for him. As I didn’t have anybody else who would be able to /want to wear it, I had to rip it out… It took me full 3 hours to frog!

  10. Outrageous!

    I think my only knitting sob stories involve sweaters that no longer fit. Or the one I should have made longer and now it can’t be changed. So they sit in the cedar chest all alone and no longer worn.

  11. That is absolutely wretched. What a rotten thing to do!!

    We “lost” a hand-knit baby blanket in a hotel. When we left for the day, it was folded up and sitting on the dresser…when we got back that night, the other three blankets were still there but the fluffy pink one? GONE. The hotel staff were…very vague…about it, the story went from “what blanket?” to “oh, uh, perhaps it was sent to the laundry?” back to “what blanket?” followed by “definitely it was misplaced in the laundry, we will mail it to you” and then back to a final “what blanket? there is no blanket! you are a crazy person!” once we were safely back in California.

    The daughter in question was a good sport about it. Mommy, on the other hand…NOT SO MUCH. Especially since that was three years ago and I STILL owe the kid a new blanket…

  12. Well what a rotten thing to do, stealing a babies blanket. Who ever did this is sure to have bad luck. I don’t have a knitting sob story, but do have one that ened well about my Mom and a had woven and sewn jacket that I had purchased for her at a craft event. Now my Mom was not a crafty person, nor did she really get the idea behind handcrafted items. But one year she went to a juried show and fell in love with this jacket. I purchased it for her and she had to wear it home. We went down to Southern California and to vist a friend and she took it. The first night there, she left it in a restaurant. I went right back, no jacket. I called multiple times each day and on the last day, again went back. Well each time, they said nope, no jacket, but when I went back that last day, and said I was not leaving without it, what showed up. My Mom burst into tears. She passed last year and now one of my best friends has the jacket, so it is continuing to bring joy.

Leave a comment