Esker Do

Meet Esker, another simple cowl.  The best part of this pattern is the model/photo.  Sarah, my stalwart photographer, was trying to get a photo done before dark just outside of the Yarnery, while I pestered her to take a some pictures for me.  However, the planned for model hadn’t arrived, so I browsed the shop for a victim and found the ideal customer to kidnap.  Now, Miss M is a killer knitter and when she is old enough to legally be employed, I imagine there will be a place for her at the LYS.  She is also an reasonably attractive teenager, normal and wholesome-looking.  But when we got her outside, pulled her hat off, dragged a couple of cowls over her head and the fantastic Sarah got going, WOW.  Check out Tess of the D’Urbervilles:

I meant to post this a few weeks ago but it slipped my mind.  The pattern is for both bulky and worsted weight, and the bulky version is definitely do-able as a last minute gift.  Not that any of us leave those things until the last minute. I used Berrocco Ultra Alpaca for the worsted version and Rowan Cocoon for bulky.  Both are wonderful yarns to work with.  The Ultra Alpaca has enough alpaca to feel luscious, but no so much that is is heavy or slippery.  And Cocoon?  Yum.

The name of this pattern is a term from geology.  I am not a geologist, but I am a word nerd, and tagged this one in my memory for the appropriate occasion.  (I subscribe to Word A Day. See? A real nerd.)  In case you are not a geologist either, eskers are “narrow, sinuous ridges winding over the landscape, formed by retreating glaciers.” Here is a picture of an Esker:

And a picture of my Esker, unstretched:

Rather sinuous ridges, wouldn’t you say?

Good luck for those doing last minute knitting, baking, sewing and all the other last minute things that I still haven’t finished.   After all, we were too busy dealing with this:

And it isn’t even winter, yet.

MLE

12 responses to “Esker Do

  1. Holy cow! That’s a pile of snow. And a nice cowl to wear when shoveling out.

  2. Lots of snow. My BIL in Winnipeg tells us they had zero snow in the latest big storm – but have had lots and lots over the past couple of weeks. Knitting in ER – hope your husband’s finger is o.k. Are you anywhere near 1915 Hennepin Avenue? That’s my genealogy question.

  3. Yowza- what an awesome cowl! The model is fabu as well; I’d sign her up for future shoots.

    You guys definitely got an winter’s worth at one go with the snow, eh?

  4. Thanks for the reply. Most interesting. I have a faded newspaper clipping here to hand and it is dated ….mber 8, 1907. It’s a list of announcements with the heading Cradle, Altar and Grave. The first bit is Births and listed about halfway down is the following: Mr. and Mrs. Alfred W. Friend, 1915 Hennepin avenue, twin daughters One of those twins was my Aunt Elizabeth who lived into her late 80’s. Sadly her twin sister Helen died at age 6. I am trying to find a record of the date.

  5. Great, very appropriate name!

    Gah, so tired of snow already…

  6. Snow!

    That is a very appropriate name! (and I’ve resubscribed to a Word a Day).

    Your model, and your cowls are both lovely. Who would wait until the last minute? (Me).

  7. I am such a [former] Minnesotan that “esker” kept morphing into Hüsker Dü in my head. Love the cowl — perfect name!

  8. I loved reading your post today. I like it a lot when designs are connected to shapes in Nature. The way the rib wind up is so organic. I begin to recognize your style.

  9. Oh, I really (really) like that pattern. It is fantastic and has been added to my “to purchase” list.

    Your model is fabulous!

  10. I do like that Esker sketch – and of course the cowl

  11. Fabulous Esker, another ML Egan hit . And the model, definitely a keeper.

  12. Esker is lovely (as is the model!). And I particularly love the name – hooray for cool words (and for geologists – being biased and all). 🙂

Leave a comment