Spinning. If you can call it that.

I have avoided spinning for many years.  I have too many hobbies and commitments already.  Husband, house, horse, job(s) — spinning will have to be for my next life.  But a bit of drop spindling for fun?  Well, why not.  Hanging around with spinners and yarnie geniuses in Maine, I suddenly acquired a drop spindle on long-term loan, beautiful wool to spin, and a couple of teachers.

Sadly, my product didn’t measure up, being much less than the sum of its parts.

Sad yarn:

first try

No better:

jani's wool

I thought I might have sharp dressed dudes checking me out while I spun:

watching men

Instead, here’s me looking at my yarn.  (And I use the term yarn  loosely.)

spinning

This is no reflection on the team that tried to get me going.  Yarndude has offered to give me a lesson in exchange for teaching him how to make Yorkshire buttons.  He’ll be wholesaling product before I have something worth showing, I’m sure!

13 responses to “Spinning. If you can call it that.

  1. Love the illustrations! I suspect you’ll have it mastered (mistressed?) shortly.

  2. Thanks for the shoutout! I guess I should get back to blogging now, huh?

  3. Keep at it. Practice makes perfect and all that. My first “yarn” looked more like pregnant earth worms.

  4. No! You caved! Curse those spinners!! 😉

  5. Thanks for making me giggle this morning.

  6. I resist spinning for all those same reasons (except the job, but I still have more activities than time, it seems). And I have considered a drop spindle, too — but I continue to resist.

  7. Brilliant illustrations here. If it’s any consolation my drop spindling is hopeless … I just can’t get the hang of it and I’ve been trying on and off for years.

  8. oh gosh…how many times I’ve tried spindling (of course, NEEDED to buy a few spindles, just because!!!). Not my most successful endeavor, I assure you!!!

  9. I must come down on the side of the resistance. Spinning, like Facebook, sounds like a fascinating occupation, but I suspect it would be so fascinating as to take up much of my already-skimpy time!

  10. hawthorn-livelovecraft

    Sounds like me! I chuckled reading this……may leave this particular skill for another day 🙂

  11. We were talking spinning last night … I resist because I think another expensive hobby could be my downfall 😉

Leave a comment