Tiger Hat Pattern

Ok this one is not free. I’ve designed it specifically for and am selling it to benefit Heifer International. For fifty years Heifer International has been providing families in developing countries (and parts of the US) with breeding pairs of animals. Even in the world’s poorest regions the cost of a cow or goat can exceed a year’s income. When a family receives a breeding pair not only do they they get meat, milk or eggs, but also now have a source of income as the offspring are sold.

The small amount of money raised through the sale of this pattern will multiply as families gain food, pride, a source of income, and the means to help someone else. The Heifer Project recipient must agree to give one breeding pair of offspring away to another family, paying the gift forward.

To learn more about Heifer International and its mission to end hunger and save the environment, visit www.heifer.org

Ok, the soapbox part is over. I had soooo much fun designing and making this hat. I poured pored (spell check isn’t everything is it?) over pictures of tigers. Did you know that a tiger’s stripes are like a human’s fingerprints? No two are identical. Now that makes knitting one of these babies easy. Don’t worry too much about the chart. You are imitating nature. It’s made with Malabrigo, one of my favorite yarns. Soft and lucious. And the response to the prototype hat has been overwhelming. This picture was taken on my way to another kid’s house for a photo op.

Tiger Girlmamie-tiger.jpg

THREE kids wanted to try it on before I could even cross the street. It is terribly convenient to have so many willing models within a few blocks of my house. Then I went to see this model,

I wish it would snow!

and before I could get him to try it on, the three older kids were getting in the act, even though it did not fit them. (It didn’t quite fit him, either.) They were lobbying for Tiger Hats for Christmas. “But with ears? ” I asked my goddaughter, a senior in high school. The withering glance. “That,” she delivered in the withering tone, “would be the point, wouldn’t it?” I may get tired of Tiger Hats by the New Year, but I don’t think so. I’m trying Scoobiedoo green and black for the next one. Hot pink, anybody?


32 responses to “Tiger Hat Pattern

  1. Oh very sweeet that hat! But for kids it is very sturdy ( I dont know if its the right word) I’m dutch… somtimes are words difficult for me!

    And good luck with your bennefit project!

    Knittie

  2. Love it. I think you’ve got a hit on your hands.

  3. Thanks for your mail! Very occasional (toevallig) that your neighbors are dutch! I ment with the hat that it for kids (stoer) is to wear… ask them to translate! I use on the internet a translate site… but with one word you get 6 differend translations Pfff that make’s it sometimes hard to choose !

    And you have a very nice blog! I put your blog in my favorites list

    Knittie

  4. Love your Tiger Hat! I think I know just the kitten to make it for too. Thanks for doing this for Heifer International.

  5. What a fun and beautiful hat design … and so appropriate for the cause!

    I think those of us who design and share knitting patterns online should definitely use our talents to raise money for charity at times, and to promote charitable causes.

    I’m so glad I found your site!

    Best,
    firefly

  6. My grandkids would love this hat. Is it knitted in fair isle or intarsia?
    Thanks!

  7. Hi Joan, it’s fair isle. I don’t do intarsia. I can, but it’s no fun to me.

  8. Thanks for the kind words about Heifer International. I joined Heifer as new media director last year and really appreciate it when someone blogs about us.

    We have a new BlogRaising program that lets bloggers like you help us get the word out about Heifer and raise the money we need to do our work. To learn more, just go to http://www.heifer.org/onlinecommunityfundraising

    I hope you are able to take part.

    Again thanks for the good words.

  9. hey Dave – this is great – I’m geeky enough to have a blog, but not enough of a geek to figure out how to to do something like this. I was going to beg one of the IT dudes to help. I hope to figure it out tonight.

  10. MUST.HAVE.TIGER.HAT….as soon as I can get home and download it on my home computer….. AWESOME thank you

  11. This hat is so incredibly cute! I’ve been knitting for orphans overseas – they are going to love this hat!

  12. P.S. Thanks to Wendy at Wendyknits for the link!

  13. Oh, this is so cute! I just had to get one! My friend is having a baby boy and I think this would be perfect to make for him (and maybe make one for me too!). And even better, it’s for a good cause.
    Thanks 🙂

  14. Uh, never mind the kids . . . does the pattern allow for BIG kids too?

  15. fantastic! how can those photos NOT make me smile???

  16. Pingback: Knitting Basket « Yarnerinas

  17. I’d love this for an adult head.

  18. This pattern is just perfect. I’ve been looking for the perfect hat to knit for my friend/coworker’s 3-year old, who loves tigers. And, my friend and I work at an international solidarity NGO, so it’s even greater that this pattern (and you – what a fabulous idea) and the wool you’ve chosen, support social justice initiatives in the global south. Kudos to you.

  19. this could be a FUN and profitable project to sell to fans o f a sports team named tigers… Hamilton Tigercats in Hamilton, Ontario and Detroit Tigers for example

  20. omg! that is the cutest tiger baby hat i have ever seen. i stumbled upon this as i was searching for a hat for my nephew. too bad you are just selling the pattern! i would love to buy a hat like that! my knitting skills arent that advanced yet! 😦
    also, i applaud you on raising money for a good cause! please let me know if you go in the direction of selling the hats as well! 🙂

  21. I’m so glad I found this pattern. I’ve been looking for something fun for my four-year old niece, who outgrew a cute store-bought hat I purchased over a year ago. I’m thinking of adding a short ‘tail’ to this tiger hat to add to the cuteness.

    Thanks for putting this pattern out on the internet! I also like that I’m supporting a great cause.

  22. Pingback: Colourwork Tigers · Lauren's Crafts

  23. How would you like to support TWO great causes?? I would love to have your pattern to make hats to sell in the gift shop at CPT – Carnivore Preservation Trust – in Pittsboro, NC . This is a rescue outfit for tigers, panthers, leopards and other similar animals who have been abandoned by owners, retired from zoos and circuses….they always need money. Their web site is cptigers.com and they are a great organization. If you agree, I will be delighted to make dozens to sell – with your name attached to give you the credit…..thanks.

  24. I am not a knitter, but is there any way I could pay you to make me one of these? I love these hats AND Heifer International!!! Let me know, I think this would be perfect for tiger football season!!!

  25. Pingback: Third Wave of Holiday Gifts: The Kids! « merp

  26. hi, is it possible to buy the tiger hat already knitted? thanks

  27. Pingback: OMG! « Corvus tristis: Art, Craft and an Odd Bird

  28. Pingback: The Kindness of Others « Corvus tristis: Art, Craft and an Odd Bird

  29. Pingback: SPIN OUT 2007: Prize Update

  30. Pingback: SPIN OUT 2007!!!!!

  31. The small amount of money raised through the sale of this pattern will multiply as families gain food, pride, a source of income, and the means to help someone else. The Heifer Project recipient must agree to give one breeding pair of offspring away to another family, paying the gift forward.

  32. Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on blogs I stumbleupon on a daily basis. It’s always interesting to read articles from other authors and use something from their web sites.

Leave a comment